Get a Driver's License
An initial Learner's Permit is issued to any individual, 16 years of age or older, who has never been licensed to operate a vehicle, a new resident who has never been licensed, or a new resident who has been licensed in another state but whose driver license has been expired longer than 6 months. If you are a new resident to PA, please visit our New Resident information page.
Acquire a Pennsylvania Driver's Manual on this website: English (PDF) or Spanish (PDF). An audio version of the manual is also available.
Have a physician, physician assistant, certified registered nurse practitioner or chiropractor conduct a physical examination and complete Form DL-180 (PDF), "Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application."
Visit a Driver License Center with:
- The completed DL-180 (PDF)
- The completed DL-180TD (PDF)(if under the age 18). This form must be completed by a parent, guardian, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older.
- Proof of identity, which is listed on reverse side of DL-180 (PDF). Note: If you are changing your name, you must present original documents supporting name changes such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order.
- NOTE: Birth certificates issued by the Puerto Rico Department of Health before July 1, 2010, were invalidated under a law passed by the government of Puerto Rico to combat fraud and protect the identity and credit of all persons born in Puerto Rico. As of October 31, 2010, Pennsylvania no longer accepts as proof of identification Puerto Rico-issued birth certificates issued before July 1, 2010. New, more secure birth certificates are available online or by mail. Visit the Puerto Rico Federal Affairs Administration website for full instructions on applying for new certificates.
- Two acceptable proofs of residency, listed on reverse side of DL-180 (PDF), if you are 18 years of age or older. Proof of residency is not required if you are age 16 or 17.
- Your Social Security card.
- As part of ongoing modernization efforts, all PennDOT’s Driver License Centers are now equipped to accept payment cards. We hope to add this customer convenience at the Riverfront Office Center Customer Counter within the year. All PennDOT’s Driver License Centers will still accept checks or money orders as forms of payment, but no cash. The Riverfront Office Center Customer Counter currently accepts checks, money orders, and cash. PennDOT will charge a fee of $60 or more for each check returned as uncollectible.
Take your eye screening and Knowledge Test at a PennDOT Driver License Center. Once passed, you will be issued your Initial Learner's Permit.
Note: Permit holders under the age of 18 are encouraged to schedule their exam at this time for 6 months from the date their initial permit was issued. Leading up to the date of their skills test, if the student does not feel comfortable they may reschedule their exam for a future date.
(Only applicable for permit holders under 18)
You must complete 65 hours of adult-supervised skill building. Except for a motorcycle learners permit, this requirement includes no less than ten hours of nighttime driving and five (5) hours of bad weather driving as well as 6 month waiting period.
Motorcycle permit holders must take the Basic Riding Clinic in place of the ten hours of nighttime driving and five (5) hours of bad weather driving. For more information on obtaining a class M license please refer to the Motorcycle Information Center
Schedule a road test either online or by calling 717-412-5300. Additionally, certain third-party businesses are certified by PennDOT to administer the road test for a market-driven fee. PLEASE NOTE:
Customers who have skills tests scheduled after June 2, 2020 will be able to obtain a driver's skills test at all open PennDOT Driver License Centers that perform skills testing. The skills test has been modified to mitigate potential exposure of PennDOT staff and customers while maintaining the integrity of the testing process. For more information on the modified test, please click here
When visiting a Driver License Center to take your road test, please be sure to bring the following items with you:
- Your valid learner's permit
- Parent or Guardian Certification Form DL-180C (PDF), if applicant is under 18 years of age
- Proof of vehicle insurance
- Proof of vehicle registration
- Accompanying driver's valid driver's license
PennDOT uses state-of-the-art facial recognition technology when an individual has their photo taken for their driver's license/identification card renewal.
Do you think you are ready to take your knowledge test? Please use our Locator service to find a PennDOT location near you. Be sure to bring your completed Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application (PDF), completed Parent and Guardian Consent form, if under the age of 18,(PDF) required proof of identification and residency, and appropriate fee.