1. What are the hours that PennDOT offices are open?
Office hours and availability vary by location and/or day. Customer service representatives are available by phone 8 a.m. through 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The Harrisburg
Driver & Vehicle Service Center is open Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and Saturdays 7:30 a.m. to noon.
Driver License Centers are open Tuesday through Saturday with hours generally 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Directions to each site and their hours may be verified by going to
Find a PennDOT Near You
. Messenger Services are open extended hours determined by each site.
2. What is the address for PennDOT? I lost the envelope to mail my renewal.
The renewal may be mailed to:
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
3. If I sell my car, what must I do?
Harrisburg, PA 17122
Legal transfer of vehicle ownership occurs when both the seller and purchaser, sign the Pennsylvania title in front of a notary public. You will need to disclose purchase price information and mileage (excluding trailers) (Form MV-4ST) at the time of transfer. The purchaser is required to submit the title transfer documentation to PennDOT within 20 days of the notarization.
4. If I was in an accident, am I required to notify PennDOT?
If the Police do not investigate an accident and someone has died or been injured, or if a vehicle must be towed, send a Driver's Accident Report (Form
) within 5 days to:
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
Bureau of Highway Safety and Traffic Engineering
P. O. Box 2047
Harrisburg, PA 17105-2047
5. Can I drive in Pennsylvania with my Foreign Driver's License?
Individuals who possess a valid foreign driver's license from their country are authorized to drive in Pennsylvania for up to one year from their date of entry into the United States, or upon expiration of their foreign license, whichever comes first. International driving permits are strongly recommended, but not required.
6. What is the Pennsylvania point system and how does it work?
The Department of Transportation maintains a driving record for every licensed driver in Pennsylvania. Points are added to a driving record when a driver is found guilty of certain driving (moving) violations. The purpose of the point system is to help improve driving habits and to ensure safe driving. The Department begins to take
corrective actions when a driving record reaches 6 or more points. The
Pennsylvania Point System Fact Sheet
is now available for downloading on this website.
7. Why does PennDOT need my Social Security Number on driver's license/learner's permit and photo ID applications?
Social Security Number Fact Sheet
for more information.
8. Where can I find out more about young driver laws?
Pennsylvania’s Young Driver Law Fact Sheet
, where you can learn more about such issues a young driver laws and some basics of safe driving.
9. Where can I find out more about vehicle liability insurance on a (un)registered vehicle?
For information about Pennsylvania’s motor vehicle insurance requirements, download the
Insurance Law Fact Sheet
10. Where can I find more information about the Driver License Compact (DLC)?
For more information about DLC, download the
DLC Fact Sheet
11. What are my rights and privileges if I am a member of the US Armed Forces?
The PennDOT publication,
United States Armed Forces Personnel Fact Sheet
, is now available for downloading on this website.
12. What insurance information do I need to renew my vehicle registration online, and where can I find it?
You will need the name of your insurance company, your policy number, the policy effective date, and the policy expiration date. This information is located on your insurance card.
13. What is a NAIC number and where do I find it on my insurance card?
Every insurance company licensed to conduct business in Pennsylvania has been issued a National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) number. This number
appears on most, but not all, insurance cards. NAIC numbers can be found on the Pennsylvania Insurance Department's Website. Select the letter that your automobile insurance company starts with to locate your Insurance Company's NAIC, or simply contact your insurance agent. Please note that you do not need your NAIC code to renew your vehicle registration online.
14. Can I donate to the Organ Donation Awareness Trust Fund (ODTF) when I renew my Driver’s License/Photo ID or vehicle registration by Internet?
Yes. You are asked during the renewal process if you wish to donate $6.00.
15. What is ODTF and why should I donate?
The ODTF is the Organ Donation Awareness Trust Fund. Your $3.00 or $6.00 contribution if renewing your vehicle registration for 2 years on the department's website will help support educational programs throughout the state to heighten understanding about organ, tissue, and corneal donation. For further information on the ODTF please visit the Pennsylvania Department of Health website.
16. Can I donate to the Veterans' Trust Fund (VTF) when I renew my Driver's License/Photo ID or Vehicle Registration by Internet?
Yes. You are asked during the renewal process if you wish to donate $5.00 when renewing your Driver's License/Photo ID for a one-year registration or $10.00 for a two-year registration (two-year contribution only available for renewals processed through our publicly accessible website).
17. What is VTF and why should I donate?
VTF is the Veterans' Trust Fund. Your $5.00 or $10.00 contribution will help assist veterans, veterans service organization and county directors of Veterans Affairs to assist veterans in need of shelter and necessities of living.
18.What is the Pediatric Cancer Research Fund and why should I donate?
Cancer is the leading cause of death by disease past infancy among children in the United States. Approximately 15,780 children are diagnosed with cancer in the United States each year. Thanks to advances in research, 80% of children with cancer now survive five years or more.
The most common types of cancer diagnosed in children ages 0 to 14 years in the United States are
leukemias, followed by brain and other
central nervous system tumors,
soft tissue sarcomas (of which half are
kidney tumors. The most common types of cancer diagnosed in 15- to 19-year-olds are lymphomas, followed by brain and other central nervous system tumors, leukemias,
gonadal (testicular and ovarian)
germ cell tumors,
thyroid cancer, and
melanoma. There are four research institutions
in Pennsylvania performing cutting edge research to develop better treatments and methods to combat cancer in our kids. You have the opportunity to help find a cure for this disease by contributing when you renew your driver's license, identification card or vehicle registration.
You can also send a direct, tax-deductible contribution by check or money order payable to the Pediatric Cancer Cure Research Fund and mailing it to: Department of Health, Health Research Office, 625 Forster Street, Health and Welfare Building, Room 833, Harrisburg, PA 17120.
19. What is The Keystone Tree Fund and why should I donate?
The Keystone Tree Fund is a $3 donation where your contribution will help to improve the environment through a tree vitalization program or a riparian forest buffer grant program.
What is the Pennsylvania Breast Cancer Coalition (PBCC) and why should I donate?
The PBCC is the Pennsylvania Breast Cancer Coalition. Your $5 donation will help to provide aid to help find a cure for breast cancer.
21. What is the Pennsylvania Children's Trust Fund and why should I donate?
The Pennsylvania Children's Trust Fund (PA CTF) works to prevent child abuse and neglect. Your $5.00 donation provides funding for community-based programs. To make a personal contribution to the PA CTF, you may make a check or money order payable to the Pennsylvania Children's Trust Fund and mail it to:
Pennsylvania Children's Trust Fund
Return to Frequently Asked Questions
275 Grandview Ave, Suite 200, Camp Hill, PA 17011.