Motor Voter Law
As part of the photo license process, eligible residents may make application to register to vote.
To register to vote in Pennsylvania, you must be:
- A citizen of the United States for at least one month before the next primary, special, municipal, or general election.
- A resident of Pennsylvania and the election district in which you want to register and vote for at least 30 days before the next primary, special, municipal, or general election.
- At least 18 years of age on or before the day of the next primary, special, municipal, or general election.
Once you have registered to vote, you are not required to register again unless you change your residence, name, or political party affiliation.
Please note that any intentional false statement made on an application for voter registration constitutes perjury and is punishable by law.
If you make application to register to vote, you will be asked to answer a series of questions. You will be given a receipt as proof of your application for voter registration. The registration office of the county of your residence will send you an official voter identification card. If you do not receive your card within two weeks, you should contact your county voter registration office. Phone numbers for each county are located at the Pennsylvania Department of State website.